Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Weekend update

stpatbaby.jpgJust a quick post. I have a coffee cake in the oven, and Lucky is clingy this morning. Yesterday, we had a surprise visit from a neighbor, who gave birth four days before I did last October. Jaya, the baby, is the jolliest baby I have ever met. She giggled at the slightest provocation. Lucky, who I think is a happy baby, seemed downright serious by comparison.

The visit came just as we had returned from town and a visit at Don’s, Alec’s dad. Feeling spontaneous, we stopped at a St. Patrick’s Day party at the Boatel Sleazy Waterfront Bar. They had free corned beef and cabbage. Alec and I each downed a bloody Mary, feeling obligated to buy a drink if we were going to eat free food. It ruined us for the rest of the day. I was so drowsy that I called it quits at the market before I had even found everything on my list.

The prospects for the climb do not look good. Alec’s lead guide sent an e-mail out, saying as much. But he is still negotiating with the Chinese government, so we will see. The leverage is that the Sherpas for Alec’s climb were going to fix the ropes that the Chinese government would use to get the Olympic torch over the mountain. No expedition, no ropes is what the lead guide is telling the government, I think. Even so, Alec is down in the dumps. The Chinese government is not known for taking crap from anyone.

liacabin.jpg

Lia’s cabin, which is where the baby and I will live for two months assuming Alec goes on the climb.

bathroom.jpg

My bathroom-to-be.

snowblow.jpg

Don cutting a path from the driveway to the cabin.

babycabin.jpg

Lucky checking out our new digs.

kids.jpg

Brian and Molly at the St. Pat’s Day party. Their grandma owns the bar, and their mom, Chris, was bartending.

2 comments on “Weekend update

  1. Marge
    March 19, 2008

    Uh, you’re going to remove the picture of the man in the outhouse, aren’t you? It kind of looks like he’s leering at you while you pee. Awesome cabin though!

  2. Paige Jennifer
    August 14, 2008

    This should come as no surprise but I can’t relate to your fondness of that outhouse thingy toilet spot. My comment probably says a heck of a lot more about me than you.

    Thanks for the link and love your site! I’m working from front to back and am looking forward to getting current (insert excited giggle here).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2008 by .
