Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Hunt for a new chancellor

A well-connected blabbermouth at the University told me their theory on the short list for the top position at my alma mater and one of the few well-paying jobs in this town.

The chancellor at UAF recently announced his plans to quit and move back to the East Coast to be closer to his grandchildren. The word on the street is that he is being run out of there. Of course, that’s always the word on the street when someone quits a job like that, but I know morale among University staff is pretty low.

Two former state legislators and a top administrator with the statewide system are supposedly being considered for the interim chancellor position. They are Brian Rogers, John Davies and Jim Johnsen.

If the contest were based on looks, I’d choose Johnsen. He’s the man version of Charlize Theron. But I admire Davies for his beliefs and Rogers because he is one of the few people to prove that bleeding-heart liberals can be players in this town too.

Davies must be the front-runner, being the only candidate among the three who holds a doctorate. The theory goes that the General (aka University President Mark Hamilton) hasn’t had much luck hiring folks from Outside, so the pressure is on to keep it in the family.

I think shakeup at the University will be a good thing. Too many talented people there are bored and preoccupied with every burp and hiccup that takes place as the University administration goes about its business.

4 comments on “Hunt for a new chancellor

  1. Tom
    March 27, 2008

    I was under the impression that The Chancellor’s benefits package kicked in, or stepped up a grade, after four years, which is probably a major factor too. I don’t doubt that he’s either been forced out or gotten fed up, though – UAF has hardly been a land of peace and harmony under his tenure. I don’t know Johnsen but Rogers and Davies would both work for me, and I think they should choose the chancellor instate, to maybe get somebody willing to stay longer than it takes to grab a pension.

  2. Amy
    March 28, 2008

    Maybe they’ll consider me for Chancellor. I’ve got a couple of years at the U under my belt!

  3. Theresa
    April 9, 2008

    You called it.

  4. Jim
    April 10, 2008

    Just for the record, I do have a doctorate and I have pulled my name from consideration. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2008 by .
