Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Coffee is brewing

I leave in about 30 minutes to pick up my brother from the airport. It’s after 11 p.m., and I just got Lucky to sleep. A pile of clothes on the couch needs folding and the sink is full of dirty dishes but otherwise our place looks like humans live here and not animals. I worked today, covering a child abuse luncheon involving a bunch of social worker types.

I haven’t seen my brother since our mother’s funeral in 2004, but we e-mail and Greg sends postcards from his adventures around the globe. Still, I am nervous and excited. I hope I don’t start crying at the airport. Displays of emotion like that make Greg uncomfortable. I am hearing more and more about a woman in his life, so it will be fun to talk in person about his plans.

I think Greg and Alec will like each other. Both have spent time at sea. Greg said he is very excited to meet Lucky. He also has a blue-eyed blonde daughter. Her name is Megan. Greg has son too, named Josh. Someone asked me their ages today and I realized that they are both teenagers. I haven’t seen my niece and nephew since my mom’s funeral.

Most of my people live in Northern Illinois. Greg and I are among the few to leave home. It makes me feel sort of like we are conspirators.


Al helping some friends, Ron and Marie Rocheleau, remodel their bathroom Wednesday night.


Marie Rocheleau holding Lucky.


Katlin Hanson of Seattle holding Lucky at the Alaska Coffee Roasting Co. on Monday. Kat is visiting Fairbanks this week.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2008 by .
