Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Which came first…

After a long, cold winter and sacrifices of one foot and a few toes—not ours, the chickens’—we have eggs. Incredible, edible eggs. Beautiful brown ovals covered in poop, yes, but eggs. The only difference from store bought eggs is that the yolks are bigger. I put one in a meat loaf, and I couldn’t taste the difference compared with store-bought eggs, but then again there are a lot of spices in meat loaf.

I shall make quiche. I shall make omelets. I shall make egg foo young. Then we will see about taste. I shall sell some too, as soon as the other hens begin to lay and we have more eggs than we can eat. I want these hens to pay for their own food. Six eggs have come so far. I haven’t looked in the hen house, but Alec says the hen built a little nest out of hay. I wonder which hen is laying. I hope it’s the one that lost her leg to the cold. Poor girl could use a break.

4 comments on “Which came first…

  1. John
    April 29, 2008

    Are these eggs from the chickens Meg and I met last spring at your house?

  2. Marie Rocheleau
    April 30, 2008

    Hi Amanda,

    I love you blog and all that you have written. Wish I was this creative. I have had fresh eggs also, I find the difference to be in flavor (its eggier) and color of the yolk, is a brighter orange than a store bought egg. Anyway, thought I would share with you. Happy belated Birthday! You are soooooo young!

    Your Friend,

    Marie

  3. Marie Rocheleau
    April 30, 2008

    I want to buy the eggs that you are selling!!! YUMMY!!!! I shall make all that you are gonna.

  4. aknewsgirl
    April 30, 2008

    John,

    No, those chickens were eaten by a fox. This is a second batch that we acquired late in the summer. It’s a trashier batch of chickens. I don’t like them as much as the ones you guys helped raise in my garage on O’Connor.

    A

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2008 by .
