Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The happy news

We’re engaged.

Alec had planned to call from from the satellite phone and ask me to marry him from Denali’s summit, but he asked me from high camp because he says he probably won’t summit this year. My reaction was completely visceral: “Yes, yes, yes.” I surprised myself, because I had thought that I was ambivalent about marriage. We both cried.

I have been calling close family and friends all morning. Two of the more notable reactions came from my brother who said, “Good, because I already call him my brother-in-law,” and my friend Judy Nickel who said, “The thin air must have gotten to him.”

I am off to a celebratory lunch with Judy and another friend, Jennifer Sampson.

15 comments on “The happy news

  1. Jin Ahmed
    May 22, 2008

    Congratulations!! What a memorable proposal!

  2. Fred and Lois Adams
    May 22, 2008

    CONGRATS AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU. IN THE YEAERS AHEAD.

  3. Gail Oswald
    May 22, 2008

    Congratulations on your engagement!!

    All the climbers must be quite disappointed. We know Mike was hoping for a successful summit this year, but the safety of all must be the top priority. Your blog has been a welcome link to the adventures of the Snow Dogs. Several of our family members have been following your daily updates. Thank you for giving us a connection to our oh-so-adventuresome son.

    Bob & Gail Oswald

  4. Aunt Lia
    May 22, 2008

    Congratulations Amanda!!!!!
    I know Alec is feeling on top of the world right now – Actually – he is pretty close to that isn’t he?
    I am so thrilled for you, Alec & Jade. I know you have made my brother a very happy man.
    Much love from all of us Stuarts in Washington,
    Lia
    P.S. Colton said “Aren’t they already married?!”

  5. Alena Dooner
    May 23, 2008

    Congrats on the engagement! Been married 17 years and lovin it still!

    Alena

  6. Amy
    May 23, 2008

    Hooray! I’m so happy for all of you! This is great news!:)
    amy

  7. Margaret
    May 23, 2008

    Does this mean I get tell embarrassing stories of your courtship at your wedding? Payback!
    But seriously – congrats! How cool!

  8. Eric
    May 23, 2008

    Congratulations, Amanda! But I’m not going to stop hitting on you until the marriage certificate is signed and notarized.

  9. Theresa
    May 23, 2008

    Yay. I’m glad you are both so happy. That is such a good thing.

  10. Theresa
    May 23, 2008

    PS Maybe Margalito and her cameraman will come back for the wedding?

  11. Margaret
    May 23, 2008

    Hell ya! I wouldn’t miss it. Unless I have to climb Denali or some damn mountain to see you wed. I bet I could get you a good deal on photos too. wink.

  12. Bottle Washing Fairy
    May 24, 2008

    Amanda, Alec, and Jade,
    Great news! I’m one happy mother-in-law-to-be/mama/grandma!
    Much love,
    The Bottle Washing Fairy

  13. Marie Rocheleau
    May 27, 2008

    Amanda,

    This is so wonderful! Congratualtions, you will be a beautiful bride.

    Your Friend,
    Marie

  14. daniel
    May 28, 2008

    well i am just tickled to my toes and i don’t even know you; congratulations.

  15. Kitrina
    July 5, 2008

    I feel retarted! I lost the link to your post, and I was trying to be slick by asking Greg for it so you wouldn’t know, but as I was going back and reading, I realized how much I missed! So, now I am forced to conffess.
    Congrats on your engagement! I am so happy for you both!

    I was very very sorry to hear about Monique, I know how much you loved her, and she will always be with you in your heart.

    It was great to visit with you while you were here, just wish we had more time.

    I will keep better track, as I now have you linked in my favorites, as for some many years now and many to come, you are one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2008 by .
