Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Being a mom and all that


I just learned this week that I am supposed to be smacking the hens in the butt every night when I gather eggs. I thought it was cruel until I noticed that the hens come to me for their spankings and duck down in preparation.

I am dividing my time between putting in a garden, looking for a new tenant and making sure that Lucky gets some sunshine every day. It’s been fun stripping her down to a diaper and a do rag and giving her something messy to eat.

I think we are going camping this weekend. I am hoping to finish a story I am writing about cybercops in Fairbanks.

One comment on “Being a mom and all that

  1. Aunt Lia
    June 3, 2008

    I have to admit I am curious – why are you spanking your chickens?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2008 by .
