Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Is the year halfway over already?


This sunset greeted us when we arrived late Thursday at the cabin at Summit Lake. I don’t know whether we took it as a sign, but we canceled plans to drive to Valdez and we stayed at the cabin all weekend, or at least until rain chased us away Sunday morning. I layed around and read “The Year of Magical Thinking,” a depressing book, on Friday while Al and Colton, our teen-aged visitor, went fishing and hiking. Saturday I joined the boys for a hike to a glacier. I lied and said “no” when Al asked me on Sunday if my legs were sore.

The agenda this coming weekend is camping at Harding Lake. Below, I offer pictures from our adventures.

On another note, the News-Miner reports today that a climber died on Denali’s summit on the Fourth of July. See the story here. The guiding outfit, Alpine Ascents, is the same outfit that Alec used for his climb earlier this year.


Jade helping dad get ready for our weekend.


Al carrying Ruby over a bridge during Saturday’s hike.


Alec and his nephew Colton.


Colton.


I don’t know if you can see him, but that’s Colton standing in front of the glacier.


My little girl with her do rag.


During the hike, I amused myself taking pictures of flowers.


Me and Jade on the bridge with Colton behind us.


A storm approached but we managed to get back to the truck before it rained.

2 comments on “Is the year halfway over already?

  1. Aunt Lia
    July 8, 2008

    Wow, What awesome pictures!
    Thanks for sharing. GrandMarty and I have been waiting with baited breath for this update. Jade is so beautiful I can hardly stand it. She looks so full of personality and delight.
    Much love to you all,
    Auntie Lia

  2. Bottle Washing Fairy
    July 8, 2008

    Indeed, amazing pictures. What an attitude that little lady has. And, thanks so much for the shots of the big grandchild.
    Much love,
    bwf

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2008 by .
