Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

I don’t want to think about it

Winter. Alec has begun getting us ready for the nasty beast. He goes out nights hunting firewood. When he gets home, I help him empty the bed of his truck, tossing logs like sandbags. I think he’s collected enough wood to get us through December. Next, the pile must be split and stacked. In about a month, Alec will join his dad for a moose hunt. We’re also hoping to dip-net for salmon, although the Copper is a finicky river.

Alec’s nephew moved in with his grandpa. I think the Sony Playstation proved too irresistible.

I am still looking for a new babysitter. I get a lot of calls from mothers-to-be looking for something to do until their little ones come.

Tomorrow is my employer’s annual summer picnic.

I went on an epic hike this morning. My legs were like rubber the rest of the day, during which I subsisted on cookies.


Alec built a fence around the garden after some bunnies raided the broccoli and cauliflower. The neighbor said the bunnies are eating her flowers.


Alec and Jade at the Golden Days parade. I had to work, although I joined them for a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2008 by .
