Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Making history


Seen here is my friend Mary’s car. I stole the picture off of her blog. She is in Connecticut tending to a sick relative so she was not home when the borough’s automated call came early Wednesday saying to “take appropriate measures” because the Tanana River was overflowing its banks. Last night, a friend with a big pickup truck tried organizing a vehicle rescue effort but the effort was aborted after it became clear that it was too late. I understand that a few inches of water has creeped in her house, a rental owned by my gynecologist. Fairbanks can be a small town.

The rivers are higher than they’ve been in four decades. I live on a mountain so I’m OK. Except I have no hot water. But that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2008 by .
