Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Sunday on the dome

Alec is outside in the fog, feeding logs into a mechanical splitter. I am inside, wearing slippers, chasing the baby around the house, trying to read a magazine, pecking at this computer and pondering breakfast. Alec said no to food because he has to turn in the log splitter this afternoon. A pile of spruce logs still needs to be gotten though. I have some work too, a personality profile on a Safeway grocery cashier that I must write for tomorrow’s paper. I am reluctant to turn myself over to the task. Instead, I want to pick up Lucky by her feet and swing her around before plopping her on the couch and tickling her stomach until she screams with laughter.

Maybe food will motivate me to stop goofing off on the blog and get busy on my story. Which sounds better, pancakes or French toast? Actually, I have a good start on the story. I managed to do that much before leaving the office on Friday. I had intended to work on the story yesterday but I made potato salad and washed a mountain of dishes. Then Alec took us to the fair where I ate a pocket salad, wonton, corn on the cob, an elephant ear, candied cashews, popcorn and ice cream. I saw the cashier’s daughter and wondered whether she recognized me. We went home before the fireworks display because Lucky was getting cranky. I fell asleep to the hum of the log splitter, a sound that also greeted me this morning.


A mushroom seen during a hike last week.


My regular hiking companions, Bobbi, Arthur, Seneca and Cedar.

4 comments on “Sunday on the dome

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    August 10, 2008

    When I worked at the Tanana Valley Fair, oh so long ago, I never imagined my baby walking the grounds with his baby on his shoulder. What a grand and glorious world we live in where I can see those two “babies” on my computer screen, courtesy of this magic blog.
    Much much love,
    bwf

  2. Aunt Lia
    August 11, 2008

    Thanks for the update and the fabulous pictures of your friends & family!
    Please give my baby bro a kick in the butt, and darling Jade a hug and kiss from her Auntie Lia.

  3. Midge
    August 11, 2008

    I wanna have a baby and come up there and hike around with you guys! Someday….

  4. aknewsgirl
    August 11, 2008

    Midge,

    Come on home, darlin’. You wouldn’t be the first person to call it quits on Alaska and then change your mind.

    ~A

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2008 by .
