Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Hi, big boy


Isn’t it pretty? It’s my new icebox. Two hairy, burly men with their names on their vests just brought it. They were early but we managed.

They also took away the old fridge, some model from the stone age. I asked what they would do with it. They said they get their frustrations out dumping old appliances at the landfill at the end of their day. “But the fridge still runs,” I said. “Couldn’t you make some money unloading it on Craigslist?” The older one, the leader, mumbled something about Lowe’s not wanting to deal with the liability.

I didn’t think about a tip until they were about to leave. I have no cash in the house so I stiffed them. I feel like a creep.

7 comments on “Hi, big boy

  1. Midge
    September 11, 2008

    That is so hot. Seriously. I have major fridge envy.

  2. Paige Jennifer
    September 12, 2008

    Pretty? I want to make babies with that lovely hunk of steel. Come to Mama!

  3. Helena
    September 12, 2008

    Feel like a creep. Or not. Your choice, remember that.

    Whatever it is, whatever it entails, it’s always your choice in how you choose to respond.

  4. Bottle Washing Fairy
    September 13, 2008

    What a beauty! I can hardly wait to visit, and wipe its tummy.
    Given all my advanced years, I don’t think I’ve ever tipped a delivery person, nor would I think to do so. Wonder what my parents would have done? Not that they will remember, if I ask them.
    Congratulations. I’m eager to see the inside.
    ml,
    tbwf

  5. jennifer
    September 15, 2008

    You are so chatty today…I LOVE IT! and the new addition to your family.

  6. Winterpen
    September 17, 2008

    One of the most romantic moments in my married life was when Mack and I were at Sears. He beckoned me with his finger and said, “Comere..” I followed him to the appliances and we picked out a fridge. man, I was smitten that day.

  7. john gimbel
    September 30, 2008

    tips!!! schmipps!!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2008 by .
