Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

I did it


This perfectly baked loaf of white bread is yesterday’s triumph. It’s my first successful loaf of bread made from scratch. It comes after multiple attempts over the years. The last attempt not long ago was as dense as a brick. I made this bad boy with my own two hands, not a bread machine, just to be clear. Alec was impressed. I’m glad because he spent his Saturday gamely putting in a window at the rental property. I wanted to do something special to show my appreciation, especially since I bought him the wrong brand of socks recently, annoying the heck out of him. Some days are filled with trivial failures like that.

My favorite thing about making the bread was the kneading. I have loved putting my hands in goo since I was a kid and my mom would have me wash up and then slide my hands into a bowl of raw ground beef, eggs and spices and mash it up for a meat loaf dinner. I took two pottery classes years ago because I liked the feel of clay on my hands. I plan to harvest the garden today and the thing I am most excited about is getting my hands in the dirt.

Another thing I liked about making the bread was the break while it rose. I went on a hike with two neighbors who I don’t know very well. One is a hat maker who I admire. I have two of her hats. She lives a half mile down the road from me. Walking with her reminded me of being in high school and having one of the cool kids invite me to a party. I own about 25 winter hats, and I am amassing a small collection for Lucky too. I must have spent 15 minutes choosing our hats for the hike. The hat maker has a small room in her house with only a coat rack occupied by probably 10 hats. I wanted to take a picture for the blog but I was afraid to weird her out. Her story is that she was in grad school trying to mix her loves of science and art when she realized that she didn’t want to be a scientist and turned her focus to sewing.

This morning, I sliced up the bread and made thick French toast. It was tasty but a little gooey in the middle. I also dug out my bread-making recipe book. The “Quick Coffee Cake” recipe looks manageable.


Jade and Alec at Home Depot.


My muse.


From the hike with the two neighbors.

3 comments on “I did it

  1. Midge
    September 15, 2008

    Oooh. That’s a beaut. The bread, I mean. Although Al and Lucky look pretty cute, too. The ptarmigan looks yummy, Johnny says. But I bet a warm slice of that bad boy with butter was divine.

  2. Paige Jennifer
    September 16, 2008

    Around 10 years ago, I made banana bread. I baked it for over three hours and still it never set. That’s because I forgot to add the flour. It scarred me and deep. Anyway, I love bread – the way it tastes and the way it smells when it’s baking in the oven. That loaf of yours touches all of my senses (slurp).

  3. Aunt Lia
    September 17, 2008

    Your bread is lovely.
    Your daughter is so delightful.
    It looks like she is almost too big for her pink sweater.
    Ethan brought us home a puppy last night.
    I was up with her at 3 am…just like old times with babies.
    Give Alec and Jade hugs for me please,
    ~ Lia

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2008 by .
