Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Mystery vegetable


I bucked up and went out to the garden. This mystery vegetable is about the only thing that seemed to thrive this summer. Help! Does anyone know what it is and what I am supposed to do with it?

To be fair, I also harvested two small cabbages, a bunch of red lettuce and some snap peas. But none of it was as lush as usual.

My jeans are wet and the gloves I wore are soaked. But it wasn’t so bad, really. I think I’ll bundle up Lucky and go for a hike this afternoon after all.

4 comments on “Mystery vegetable

  1. Marie Rocheleau
    September 16, 2008

    Hi Amanda,

    Could it be broccoli? That is what the leaf looks like ona broccoli plant.

    Hope all is well with your family. I have been moose hunting over the past weekend and days. Wish me luck.

    Marie

  2. Bottle Washing Fairy
    September 16, 2008

    Could it be a red cabbage that took off and didn’t head? I don’t think of broccoli as having red in the leaves.
    Good luck, surely someone of your readers will know.
    mltbwf

  3. Winterpen
    September 17, 2008

    Looks like a misshaped kohlrabi.
    I’m just saying.

  4. Helena
    September 17, 2008

    Sweetpea, I planted a cucumber plant at the beginning of summer. Kept expecting long, dark green vegetables to grow, but instead, got this green and white round thing. This has been a freaky summer as far as veggies are concerned, a lot of people have said so. So, I just thought I had a freaky cucumber.

    Not content to leave things be, I brought my odd “cucumber” into work. Oh, one of my coworkers remarked, that’s a squash!

    Well, go figure. Seems like I’m just a clueless city girl, after all, so my “vote” doesn’t count. But I’d agree with Winterpen – it just might be a kohlrabi.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2008 by .
