Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Celebrity at our marathon

At the Equinox marathon this morning, I interviewed billionaire philanthropist Melinda Gates, who belonged to a relay team. I unintentionally called her Melissa, and I wanted to die. Luckily, the mother of three was charmed by the sleeping baby on my back.

Be sure to read my newspaper tomorrow for the details. I’ll do a blog post ASAP about what it was like. Gates is the 40th most powerful woman in the world, only a few notches away from Oprah, according to Forbes magazine.

Yikes. Can you believe I got her name wrong?

Anyway, the blog post will involve a lot of nervousness and fumbling on my part. Sorry, but I haven’t much celebrity dish about Gates. Being a billionaire and a celebrity hasn’t turned her into a fruitcake like it does some people. Admittedly, I only spent 10 minutes with her but she struck me as smart, poised and completely normal.

“We’re just going to have pizza and play board games tonight,” she said. Crap. I didn’t think to ask what board games.

3 comments on “Celebrity at our marathon

  1. Aunt Lia
    September 20, 2008

    You go girl!
    Jade is the fudge factor.
    Love to you and the ak Turners.
    auntie Lia

  2. Bottle Washing Fairy
    September 21, 2008

    Congratulations, My Dear, Can hardly wait to hear the rest of the story.
    See you soon,
    tbwf

  3. Paige Jennifer
    September 24, 2008

    Hey, Melissa is pretty darn close to Melinda. Just a few letters off. Maybe she never heard the slip up? I mean, I get called Peach sometimes (don’t ask – apparently Paige is too similar sounding?!?!?) and I don’t mind. I’m just happy someone wants to talk to me!

    Anyway, yay you! That’s a great experience!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2008 by .
