Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

My day so far

Lucky has torn a newspaper to sheds, pulled a pile of yet-to-be-folded laundry off the couch and bit my toe. The house is a wreck and the how-I-got-the-Melinda-Gates-interview essay isn’t going well. To top it all off, sources are calling me on my work cell phone with news tips that sound legitimate so I am having to e-mail the office. The only thing I have in the freezer to pull out for dinner is salmon, and I am not in the mood to eat fish.

I just want to curl up under a blanket and read my Lesley Stahl memoir, which is riveting. Reading about politics of the past is a nice break from current politics and helps put things in perspective.


Lucky being a fussy-muss while her Aunt Bella held her. Bella is visiting from Anchorage and we went to dinner on Friday at Silver Gulch.


Lucky helping her dad put together a metal arm that he screwed to the wall. We hung the tv on it.


My desk at work, by far the messiest even though I am only there two or three days a week.


It took three men and a husky teenage boy to carry our new wood stove up two flights of stairs.

4 comments on “My day so far

  1. Midge
    September 22, 2008

    I love seeing your desk looks the same: the orange potted plant, the salt, the headset. Love it. And miss it.

  2. g
    September 23, 2008

    MORE JADE!!!!!!!!
    =)

  3. Paige Jennifer
    September 24, 2008

    From one writer to another, I love, Love, LOVE that first sentence.

  4. jennifer
    September 24, 2008

    I love your messy desk…but i am shocked. Alec’s sister is beautiful and I love her name. Where are you putting the stove? I hope Matt gets ours in this R&R. Im looking forward to “playing with fire.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2008 by .
