Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

A season of change

My draft post file is starting to look like my Gmail inbox. I’m feeling unsettled lately, and I don’t know what I want to write about. Do I write about taking Jade swimming this week or about her upcoming first birthday? Maybe I could write about her fits and starts as she tests her walking legs. Or how she can arch her eyebrow, a talent she inherited from my mother, who died four years ago.

Shall I write a post about all of the changes at my job and how I am feeling unsure about where I fit in? How about a post about winter? It’s suddenly here, and by golly my three hens are continuing to lay eggs. And there’s always the presidential election. The God-loving, abortion-hating, former beauty queen, machine-gun-shooting governor of my state is on the Republican ticket.

I can always write about Canadian Thanksgiving. We are celebrating it in our house this year. It seems like a good excuse for a feast. If Americans can embrace Cinco de Mayo, than why not a holiday from our northern neighbor?

I have a lot of ideas, but I get down a few sentences and hit a dead end. I think it has to do with this feeling lately that whatever I am doing is not what I should be doing. I should be doing something else. Like now. I feel like I should be writing a friend a reassuring e-mail or washing dishes or calling my dad.

Maybe I am swept up in a national mood. The economy seems on the brink of another Great Depression, the country is at war and a new president will be elected in a few weeks. I am a mother now, and I have never been more invested in a presidential election.

I hope I can shake this mood, whatever the cause. I guess I’ll go do something else whilst probably pondering whether I should be improving this post.

6 comments on “A season of change

  1. Dad
    October 10, 2008

    I Love You Sweetheart Dad

  2. Aunt Lia
    October 11, 2008

    Hang in there Mama Bear.
    This is the season of abundance and change.
    I had to tarp off all my flowers last night in hopes of saving them to live another day. I hate the morning after the first hard frost ~ I call it brown mush day when summer is officially over.
    Take good care of you and yours.
    Happy Autumn,
    Lia

  3. Donna
    October 12, 2008

    When in doubt….call your dad!!
    I would do anything to be able to pick up the phone and call my dad.

  4. akbushbaby
    October 12, 2008

    Thoughtful and honest, this post is perfect. Keep writing, it’ll help. Chocolate helps, too.

  5. Danielle
    October 14, 2008

    Oh, I remember that raising eyebrow your mom used to give – haha! Thanks for the memory. I think it’s great you have a relationship with your dad now; treasure it, you know how quick life goes by.

  6. Paige Jennifer
    October 14, 2008

    We’ve all been there. It’s like a half eaten apple, the exposed inside browning from the air. You can’t help but be turned off. Except, dried applies rock, right? Meaning, sometimes you have to hit a blah moment to get to the other side. Keep writing, keep plugging away. And eventually, it’ll all snap back into place.

    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2008 by .
