Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving

The turkey is in the oven, the potatoes are boiling on the stove and the bread is rising. Alec is stacking wood in the garage. Jade is tugging on my pants, trying to get my attention. I called my dad, my Aunt Lynne and Donna, my friend since preschool. They all live in northern Illinois or southern Wisconsin, where the temperature is about 80 degrees. I cursed them all, even thought I don’t much mind the blizzard today. The downside is that the Bottle Washing Fairy decided to remain in her cabin in the woods instead of drive the 25 miles to join us for dinner. It was warm yesterday—almost 50 degrees—so the roads are ice with a few inches of snow on top. Jade’s grandpa will still join us, and I am glad because I made a pineapple upside down cake with rice flour. Don is allergic to gluten, so wheat flour is out when it comes to cooking for him. This is my first cake with rice flour, and Don may be the only one who appreciates it.

All of the pictures shown here are from a trip to the hot springs with Jade’s play group.


My Canadian friend, Seneca, and her son, Cedar.


Cedar is known for his broad shoulders, long arms and big feet. Some of us wonder whether he will be the next Michael Phelps.


My girl.


Another of my girlie.


Arthur and his mama, Bobbi, who also belong to the play group.


Just one more of Arthur. I swear, he is cuter every time we see him.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2008 by .
