Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Birthday countdown

Last night, I was in multi-task mania mode, simultaneously washing dishes, gathering dirty laundry and scarfing down dinner, when Alec cornered me in the bathroom and handed me a $100 bill. I love when he does that, by the way. It reminds me of the Milner family, which is my dad’s family. They like to hand out cash too. It sort of makes me feel like I’m in the mafia.

“Get something nice for Jade for her birthday,” Alec said. “Get something she can have for years to come.”

Jade’s first birthday is Thursday. I had planned to buy her a plastic tool set because she loves her dad’s tools and “helping” him with projects around the house. Now I’ll have to think of something else. I have something in mind, but I am not sure if it is a gift for me or for her. I want to get her a remote control helicopter. I think I can get one at Radio Shack for $40. Jade loves to watch birds and I think she would enjoy watching mom and dad fly a tiny helicopter around, and if we don’t crash it, she can fly it too someday.

One comment on “Birthday countdown

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    October 18, 2008

    Only a few of us know what that $100 finally bought.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2008 by .
