Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

So you say it’s your birthday


Cake? Check. Balloons? Check. Party hats? Check. I am almost ready for Lucky’s birthday party. Her play group should arrive any minute. I kept this party low-key so that it wouldn’t stress me out. Lucky probably won’t even notice it’s her birthday, although she has been having fun playing with balloons on the floor.

I miss my mom a lot today. I grew up poor but mom always made an extra effort to make Christmas and birthdays special. I want to do the same for my daughter.

3 comments on “So you say it’s your birthday

  1. Midge
    October 16, 2008

    Happy birthday Lucky! You have a rockin’ mama.

  2. Aunt Lia
    October 17, 2008

    Happy Birthday Jade ~
    Your decorations look very festive and fun.
    You are probably still at the age when the box is more interesting than the toy inside.
    Can’t wait to meet you.
    Love,
    Auntie Lia

  3. MG
    October 17, 2008

    Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2008 by .
