Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Excuse me, pardon me, excuse me

They say this shopping season will be restrained, but you wouldn’t know it from the toy department in Fairbanks’ Wal-Mart this morning.

I played bumper carts while trying to see if they carried little toy laptops. I had planned to buy one in an effort to keep little fingers off of mine. I saw them while shopping for Lucky’s birthday in October. No luck, this time.

The toy laptops were sold out. And no wonder. I watched a woman place five toy planes in her cart, clearing out the store’s whole plastic airplane stock. I saw a husband and wife each pushing a cart full of toys.

I don’t normally shop at Wal-Mart. It’s too bright, too big and too busy. But this morning I wanted to see if the new grocery store add-on was any good and to look for the baby laptop.

The grocery store didn’t impressed.

Bread was $3 more than Fred Meyer, where I shop now, and the frozen juice selection sucked. They didn’t have the strawberry-kiwi blend I like. The meat looked sallow. The bananas were rotting. And they hadn’t been moved off of the main display and reduced for a quick sale.

One side of a whole aisle of freezers held ice cream and ice cream treats. No wonder we’re a fat nation.

I may wind up buying all of Lucky’s Christmas toys from a little mom-and-pop toy store in a strip mall. The store carries wooden castles and beeswax crayons.

One comment on “Excuse me, pardon me, excuse me

  1. Paige Jennifer
    November 26, 2008

    The one thing I can compliment Walmart about is that they are consistently wretched places to shop. No matter the state or the time of day, those stores always make me want to scream.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2008 by .
