Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Bar-hopping with our baby

Jade on Saturday accompanied her mum and dad to the Boatel Sleazy Waterfront Bar, where the barmaid, Natalie, has appeared in at least two episodes of “That 70’s Show.” The baby spent most of her time running laps around the pool table while I sipped vodka and cranberry juice and supervised. We later went to Ivory Jacks, the watering hole near our house. Alec had a gift certificate courtesy of a neighbor whose driveway he had plowed. There Jade repeatedly tried sneaking into the kitchen. One of the waitresses said children are commonly curious about the establishment’s kitchen.

I was surprised by how much fun I had bar-hopping with my 1-year-old. I suppose the four cosmopolitans I downed put me in the right frame of mind. I was also surprised that no one expressed disapproval at our bringing our kid into bars. Maybe when you live in one of the coldest place on earth (see www.wx-now.com/weather/wxextremes.aspx), certain acts normally considered in bad taste are overlooked.

After it dawned on Jade that I wasn’t going to let her explore the kitchen at Ivory Jacks, she did the rounds, going from table to table to get a good look at the rest of the patrons. Most people seemed charmed. At one table, a group of people were playing card games. I saw the woman, Heather, whose childhood house I bought. She always asks me about the house. I told her that I was worried about my tenants due to the extreme temperatures, and she told me not to worry because the house never let her family down.

I have pictures of our adventure, but WordPress is buggy and I can’t seem to upload anything. It’s probably just as well. We don’t want the Office of Children’s Services to have actual evidence of the outing.

2 comments on “Bar-hopping with our baby

  1. MG
    January 6, 2009

    Ah. I have very vague, and positive I might add, memories of watching my dad play pool at the Healy Roadhouse when I was little. Small towns. There were kids in the bar all the time. It was the place the community hung out in the winter. No big deal. I assure you, you are not scarring here. Look how well-adjusted I am. 😉

  2. KW
    January 16, 2009

    Interesting.

    Small town, Fairbanks.

    I at one of the tables at IJ’s that night.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2009 by .
