Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

“Need Lunch Food”

daddybabyAt the risk of seeming like I am using this space to settle domestic scores, when I wake up in the morning to a note that says, “Need lunch food,” it only reinforces the notion that I live with a caveman.

And when I place food before the caveman’s daughter and she proceeds to throw half of it on the floor and then later goes back to the floor looking for a snack, I find myself thinking that I am raising a cavekid.

Lately, I crave the company of women. I want to be around people who value pronouns and who keep their bodily functions to themselves. I long for the company of someone who waits to talk until I am finished having my say. It would be a real treat to occasionally hear words like please and thank you without having to demand it.

Note to family: When I am in the bathroom, that is my private time. Sometimes, I don’t care to share my food. Tantrums, especially in the middle of the night, are not endearing. (This applies to you too, Jade.) Fine, throw your clothes on the bedroom floor. I do it too. But the living room? Not appropriate.

need

cavekid
Alec and his mini me. She even holds her head like he does.

6 comments on ““Need Lunch Food”

  1. G
    January 13, 2009

    it’s a caveman world … who was it?? from home improvement?? always makes the ape noises & compares men to apes?

  2. aknewsgirl
    January 13, 2009

    Can’t cavemen have manners, though?

  3. mountainrunner
    January 14, 2009

    Can we make a playdate for our cavemen?

    I’m still trying to train mine. I don’t know if there’s hope…

  4. Bottle Washing Fairy
    January 14, 2009

    I laughed and laughed and laughed.
    Well put, My Dear.
    I’ll be there soon to relieve you of at least part of this ‘problem’. Sounds as if you could use a bit of a respite before then, though. I do like your redo of the “about me” paragraph. Good work, Writer Lady.
    Much love,
    tbwf

  5. aknewsgirl
    January 14, 2009

    Mountainrunner,

    Sure, maybe we can leave the cave children with them and do something civilized. I am dying to get my toes polished.

  6. alec
    January 14, 2009

    This really hurt me,Amanda think before you post this stuff , I work hard for this family to have food on the table .and when you bash me in this way why why???? is it really that bad???? and I take Jade as much as possable .You live in my foot steps for a week and we will see hard hard my days are . think twice before you post this shit or bolck me from your bolg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2009 by .
