Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Bad news coming out of Nepal

The latest headlines out of Nepal are making me nervous:
Government asked to look into attacks on journalists
Hundreds of press freedom violations in 2008
Rebels loot police post, kill one officer
Some predict second civil war
________________________________________________________________________________________________________

To make matters worse, an election will take place in April during my trek. If the Nepalese are anything like Americans, the run-up to the election will be ugly.

The lead guide for the trip said in a recent e-mail that he had a frustrating time recently while traveling in the country to prepare for this trip. Specifically, he mentioned power rationing, an overloaded telephone system, no reliable water supply, a five-hour wait to buy gasoline and the unstable government. He said to be prepared for these hardships but not to worry, the trip will still be fun.

I read in the “terms” part of the expedition agreement that members need permission from the guiding service to blog. I wonder if censorship will be an issue. If that’s the case, I’ll do my best to use euphemisms. I lose my desire to write if I can’t say what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2009 by .
