Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

It wasn’t so bad

loving
After spending two hours gift wrapping, dressing myself and dressing Lucky, who wore cute multi-colored striped tights, I almost didn’t make it to the bridal shower.

Driving down the hill, I lost control of the Subaru in the same spot where I crashed the Toyota in 2007. I regained control of the car just as another vehicle came up the hill and then almost wound up in the ditch. After a mild panic attack, I looked behind me and saw that Lucky had faint ketchup stains on her face from dinner the night before. Then I had trouble finding the house. I started feeling nauseous and wondered if all of this was a sign not to go.

But go I did and I survived. My friend who is to marry was happy and witty and all of the guests fawned over Lucky, so it was OK that the hostess said nothing about our little situation. C’est la vie. Maybe some people are just too busy to care about the feelings of others.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2009 by .
