Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Ten days and counting

babyvacuum
I have 10 minutes to pound out this post before I dress and leave for my Tuesday yoga class.

The living room has turned into a Nepal staging area and my pre-trip “to do” list is growing. I feel good, moderately fit anyway, but I wish I trained more. Hopefully, I can get out this weekend.

The news out of Nepal is still not great. I read last week that the government and the opposition are building up their Armies. The U.S. State Department has a travel warning for Nepal. It basically says not expect help if something bad happens in the backcountry. Great, huh? We are advised to check in at the embassy in Kathmandu after we arrive. I hope this New Zealander who arranged this trip is the real deal because my government has made it clear that it does not have my back.

Most of the trouble is reportedly in the south and we’ll be in the north. Kathmandu, which is about as big as Dallas, is said to be safer than most American cities. Still, it’s not advised to go out alone at night, especially women. Alec thinks we’ll be fine because we’ll be with a big international group.

Alec has had T-shirts and hats made that say “Alaskan Granite, Everest 2009 and glacierboy.com,” which is his climbing Web site. A going away party is set for Sunday at the Boatel Sleazy Waterfront Bar. I’ll take some pictures and hopefully post them Sunday night.

I am testing some $16 travel underwear. The package says, “17 countries. 6 weeks. And one pair of underwear.” I won’t say for how many days I’ve been wearing them but they are holding up very well. I’m going to wash them by hand tomorrow, which is how I imagine I’ll have to wash them on the trip. They’re supposed to dry in two hours.

2 comments on “Ten days and counting

  1. madge
    March 17, 2009

    I think I have those same skivvies. They aren’t bad and really do work well for hand washing. And, despite what the packaging promises, it doesn’t hurt to have more than one pair. I’m just sayin’….
    PS RE: your Facebook status – who’s moving back? I’m so curious…

  2. Helena
    March 18, 2009

    I’m curious too about who’s coming back. It’s always special when that happens, especially in Fairbanks. Goodbyes in Fairbanks are all too often one-way ticket to “have a nice life cuz we’ll probably never see each other again.” So, again, it is really special when a close friend moves back up here.

    The hound is whining to let him out, brb . . .

    Ok.

    You have the best blog, Amanda. I love everything about it. I’m *really* hoping you’ll somehow be able to blog while on your trip in Nepal. That would be wonderful!

    I’ll try to make it to the going away party at the Boatel. It’ll be nice to wish you guys a bon voyage. I’m curious about one thing though – how are you going to stay warm when you sleep at night in 20 below in a tent? Myself, I can’t sleep if I’m cold, so, winter camping was always a challenge for me.

    . . .

    I get the feeling the baby came yesterday or today. The baby will change everything between us, already has been changing everything between us. I can’t stifle my worry that I’ll never hear from Larry again. I’m sad.

    . . .

    I hope you had a lovely St. Patty’s Day. I did end up going to the Big I, with Sonja. Loved it.

    Listening to the live bagpipes almost made me cry. Several times. The sound of them just cuts right through all the layers of bs and goes straight to my soul. The music is incredibly powerful. And healing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2009 by .
