Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The Nepal trek

The Bottle Washing Fairy is making her famous carrot cake at her son’s request, while Jade supervises. Alec went to work for a few hours before the going away reception this afternoon.

I sit here thinking about stuffing my 40-below sleeping bag into a tiny compression sack or going out for a hike. It’s 12 degrees but gusting. I don’t want to deal with the wind.

I want to share a link to an L.A. Times story about a Nepal trek. My friend in Cambodia turned me on to this story. The writer did what I think is the same trek I am doing but 20 or 30 years ago and then returned last year.

Two days ago, a call came from a publicist in Costa Rica. An offshore online gambling company wants to sponsor Alec. He’s flattered, and I think he’ll accept the sponsorship. In exchange for a sizable check, Alec will have to make a bet from Everest’s peak, I think.

The matter of the canceled flight is settled and not to our advantage. We are spending a day and a half in Singapore. Alec’s friend in San Francisco said we should be careful because they’ll throw you in jail for any little thing over there.

2 comments on “The Nepal trek

  1. greg
    March 22, 2009

    singapore does not throw u in jail. if they were like that i’d still be in prison!! if i can make it 4 weeks of living in a hotel & being left to my own devices then i think you can make it a day and a half. i know some good reasonable hotels in decent ares … try the Novotel at clark quay for starters. there’s also a nice european hotel in that same area for under $100 a night.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2009 by .
