Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Ready or not …

amanda-in-the-wind
In moments, we leave for China on an Air China 747-400. It’s huge and judging by the dozen or so flight attendants who have walked by, it holds a lot of people.

We almost didn’t get here. While checking our bags, there was some confusion on the ticket agent’s part about whether we needed a Visa to stop in China on our way to Nepal. We asked where to get one and he said tomorrow at the Chinese Embassy. It got straightened out. I just hope no one in China demands a Visa.

The picture is of me at the top of Mount Diablo just outside San Francisco. I like it here and hope to visit again someday. Ramin, seen below with Alec, is a generous and gracious host. He took us out for houevos rancheros on the way to the airport.

They are boarding now, so I’ve got to sign out. I hope to post again from Beijing.

alecramin

7 comments on “Ready or not …

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    March 29, 2009

    Nap time. Oh, I so hope you can keep these dispatches coming as you travel. I and many of my friends and family hang on your every word. Was SO! good to talk to you this morning. At 33 degrees with a bit of sun, we look forward to a lovely walk as soon as Little Bit wakes up. I’m loving this opportunity to wallow in fulltime love, hugs and snuggles, plus grins from little Bright Eyes.
    Much much love to both of you,
    tbwf

  2. Bottle Washing Fairy
    March 29, 2009

    Naptime.
    Yet again I have written a comment and not had it show up. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. This is actually simply a test. My fourth try. Great to hear from you this morning.
    Much much love to both of you,
    tbwf

  3. Bottle Washing Fairy
    March 29, 2009

    fifth attempt to see if I can get a comment to register.

  4. Bottle Washing Fairy
    March 29, 2009

    sixth attempt

  5. Lisa
    March 29, 2009

    Good luck, girl! You’re in my prayers!

  6. Pam
    March 30, 2009

    Hi Amanda – I’ve been following along, and my husband is living vicariously thru Alec.. he has the climbing bug too, but no time to do anything about it. Wishing you the best of luck on your adventure. Sounds like you have had your share of speedbumps already.. but hopefully that means a safe journey to base camp lies ahead! Cheers!

    Pam

  7. Bottle Washing Fairy
    March 30, 2009

    Gorgeous, as ever, shot of you. This is something like my sixth attempt to comment. When will I figure this out? tbwf

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2009 by .
