Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Still weak

I managed to go out and hunt down some ice cream yesterday, which is the only thing that sounded good. The walk around the block was exhausting. I went right back to bed afterwards.

My stomach is still topsy-turvy. I drank some mango juice this morning. The thought of anything else makes me feel sick.

The upside to all of this is that I am skinny. Or at least skinny by my standards.

I want to do something today other than lie in my room watching BBC World News, but I’m not sure I can manage much more. BBC World News is awesome, by the way.

Thanks for all of the comments. They perk me up. I can’t wait to come home.

5 comments on “Still weak

  1. Helena
    April 17, 2009

    . . . and we can’t wait to have you back!

  2. Jill
    April 17, 2009

    The Death March image is amazing. You are proving the human body has capacity beyond our wildest imaginings. My dad is in town, back from cush travels in Columbia that make your trip sound like being a POW. When he heard you were sick (Mom told me before I had a chance to read your blog, word travels fast about your adventures) he said he wondered if you’d be able to return on time. I said I guessed you’d be on that plane no matter how sick you were. Hey, the airplane is sheer luxury compared to the trail!

    It’s a real shame that you two didn’t get to travel with the group from the start. I bet it would have had a different dynamic and they might have felt like friends. That or it would have been a Trek From Hell.

    Too funny that the Psychologist had to analyze you on the road.

    BIG Congratulations, HUGE Admiration. Your endurance is now legendary.

    I’m glad my baby brother’s sweetheart is so strong. You two are such a good match.

    I’m glad my baby niece’s mamma is so strong. Lucky Jade sounds like she’s going to test your limits more than once before you’re done. As is her god given right.

    Much love and big cheering from your fan in Seattle.

  3. Jill
    April 17, 2009

    From BWF: (since her last posts did get on here I am not sure if this will end up being a duplicate, but it’s good information so I’m posting it.)

    Alec called! He’s headed up Lobuche; same height as Denali. Will take two days up and one down so he’ll be out of touch for three days. He misses Amanda. Has a bit of a cold. Hopes to get the computer working after that, but won’t be posting until he does. The connection was terrible.

    Jill, want to post this for Amanda. I don’t think she is traveling with a cell phone so I doubt that he could call her. He didn’t know she’d already reached Katmandu.

  4. Jill
    April 17, 2009

    I just have to share this from BWF, part of an email to me but if I were Jade’s Mama I would love to hear this:

    Jade is great. Upon our return, she marched herself over to the pictures of her mama and daddy, which are way up at my eye level, and said hi to each of them, craning her neck. I don’t see how she can possibly actually see the pictures from her line of sight. When she caught me watching, she asked to be picked up and we greeted them again.

    Oh, dear, Little Bit’s bedtime. Time to say night-night to all the toys

  5. Bottle Washing Fairy
    April 17, 2009

    Amanda, so sorry to hear you are not well, but not surprising, under the circumstances. Take it easy. Pamper yourself, and come home. We will take good care of you, here. I believe you arrive in the middle of the night on the 21st, Tuesday. Correct? Robbie said he will take the truck and leave it at the airport, but I must admit I am SO! tempted to wake up Jade and meet that plane, except that I have been religious about seeing to it that she gets plenty of good regular sleep so she is at all times in good spirits, and she is. She is mellow. I can hardly wait to see you.
    Much love,
    tbwf

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2009 by .
