Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Last day in Kathmandu

I took a precarious motorcycle ride to the airline ticket office to see about getting out of here early. I had no luck so I pay my 1,700-rupee airport tax tonight and hop on the 11 pm flight to Guangzhou in southern China where I wait five hours and then catch a flight to Beijing.

From Beijing, there is a 12-hour flight to San Francisco. Then on to Portland, Seattle and finally Alaska.

It’s an ugly itinerary and I wish I could get started on the journey right now so I can get it over with. I have offers from two fellow travellers of a Valium and a Zanax. Very tempting. All of the savvy travellers bring a drug store along with them, it seems.

I can hardly let my thoughts rest on the topic of Jade without nearly folding into tears. But I can hardly not think about her either. It’s been too long since I held my baby in my arms.

3 comments on “Last day in Kathmandu

  1. Madge
    April 19, 2009

    If you have several hours in Seattle or get stranded (don’t even think it) be sure to let me know and I will come re-fuel you with food, drink a warm washcloth or whatever else you might need. But really, I hope you just have a speedy trip home….

  2. Helena
    April 19, 2009

    Wow, and I thought the Luckster would be the one having a hard time with both of you away. A month for a young lady her age is HUGE. But then again, seems like she’s having a good ole time with the BWF.

    Funny, well maybe not, that it’s actually you having a difficult time with the long absence. Your comments about how much you miss your little one are very sweet and endearing. *Loved* your comment yesterday about how you’d swim across the Pacific just to be with her again, if that’s what it took.

    Now *that’s* motherhood! 🙂

  3. Bottle Washing Fairy
    April 19, 2009

    I’ve been wondering if Jade’s comfort with her mama and daddy being bye-bye is an example of living truly in the moment. They are not here now and now is where she lives, not in the three weeks they’ve been gone or in the two days we must wait until Mama returns. Just for the moment, again and again, they are bye-bye. And, she has every reason to believe they will return. They always have.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2009 by .
