Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Rookie mom

Gone three and a half weeks and I pretty much have no idea what I am doing in the motherhood department. It’s a good thing the Bottle Washing Fairy is still here.

My first rookie mistake was waking up the bundle of joy at 3am after arriving home from my trip early Wednesday.

Isn’t there a saying, “Never wake a sleeping baby?” Well, it’s for good reason. At about 4am, when I was ready for bed, Lucky was wound up like a top. I didn’t know what to do with her and finally the Bottle Washing Fairy woke up and managed to get her to lie down.

Bedtime last night was equally a disaster.

Before I left for a month in Nepal, bedtime was flawless. She kissed her dad good-night, drank some milk and nestled into her crib while I covered her with a blanket and tucked in the edges.

Last night, she screamed.

I suppose I have it coming. I abandoned my child for a time and there’s consequences. We’re out of sync.

It reminds me of the first few weeks after Lucky was born. I had no idea what I was doing and it felt like a quagmire every time she cried. Slowly, through trial and error, I figured out what she wanted and needed.

Before long, I could fulfill her needs before she knew she even had a need and without thinking much about it. Motherhood came to me by instinct.

I hope I can get to that place again.

4 comments on “Rookie mom

  1. janet
    April 23, 2009

    so when jet lag hits , the only option is sleep, regardless of what jade is doing. welcome back.

  2. Amy
    April 24, 2009

    You’ll get back into the groove. Welcome back!

  3. Helena
    April 24, 2009

    How could you and little Lucky *not* get back into the groove, Amanda?

  4. Marie Rocheleau
    April 26, 2009

    Hi Amanda,

    Welcome back! Ron and I would like to have you and Jade over for dinner. Maybe next weekend? Call us when you get settled back in.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2009 by .
