Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Still here

jade0509

Dear Internet,

First, I want to say I have not abandoned you. I wouldn’t blame you if that’s what you thought. It’s been awhile since I last posted.

I have lots of excuses. Work is busy, and I even had to drive all the way out to North Pole for a City Council meeting. There was a problem at the rental property that demanded my attention. The Internet here on Murphy Dome went down. Then my computer and wireless router refused to speak.

But probably the biggest reason is record-breaking temperatures in the high 70s last weekend.

If it’s any consolation, the mosquitoes are horrendous. And Lucky has a hissy fit when I bring her inside.

As I type these words, she is trying to pick up a 12-pound bag of dirt. Now she is screeching.

Alec called at 6 a.m. today. He broke a personal record for altitude, having slept a night at 24,000 feet on Everest. If sleep is what you can call it. He said he woke up every five minutes. Three men so far have scratched from the expedition.

They are returning to Base Camp, resting and then moving up the mountain to make their summit bid, which will be during the second half of this month, he said.

I hung prayer flags and bought frames for the art I brought back from Nepal. I assembled a Little Tikes slide. I didn’t blow up the house when I ran the generator to charge the batteries that keep the fridge and the water pump running.

I guess things are going pretty good.

Your pal always,
Amanda

P.S. I went to Alaskan Granite and the employees were stressed. Two employees have flaked out. (After publishing this post, I learned that one had been in the hospital.) The two left can’t keep up. (I also later learned that the lead fabricator pulled an all nighter to get a rush job installed for a difficult client.) I agreed to come in Thursday morning to deal with the phones and door traffic. I know diddly about stone counter-tops except they are pretty. Wish me luck.

Alec’s accountant told me that if he were home working, the company would be making money hand over fist. Seems everyone wants stone counter-tops these days.

One comment on “Still here

  1. Helena
    May 5, 2009

    Bohperson, no excuses necessary in regards to not posting. Plus, you managed not to blow up the house, and the water pump *and* fridge are still working? Fabulous news, dahlink!

    I’d love to see some pics of those prayer flags and artwork you brought back from Nepal.

    H.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2009 by .
