Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Chirp, chirp

chickiedoo
Six new additions are coming to the Turner Ranch this summer. They are keeping warm beneath a heat bulb at the Bohman Bungalow in town.

All six chicks are hens, three black and three golden.

When the grow big enough, they will join our three hens in the coop out back.

They arrived in Fairbanks by aircraft, and the feed store was keeping them in a shed.

When I picked them up today, the lady gave me “employee” access and didn’t balk when I started snapping pictures.

The chorus of chirping sounded sweet.

I wish my six chicks were here. They are so tiny and helpless. I yearn to check on them.

chickiedoo2

One comment on “Chirp, chirp

  1. Madge
    May 8, 2009

    I still have nightmares about the time Ruby snuck into your garage to greet the chicks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2009 by .
