Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The five minute post

meme_1Soon it will be tomorrow and I have to get an early start but I am still awake owing to a late-night bitch session with an insomniac.

I spoke to Alec, who is moving up the mountain again, this time with plans to tag the summit before coming down. He sounded like crap and said he had bad diarrhea.

A weird thing happened at work today. I cried while talking to my boss. My emotions were out of proportion with the subject matter. I am taking it as a sign that I am nervous about Alec heading to the “Death Zone” on the world’s tallest mountain. Still, I remain embarrassed even hours later as I type this.

I have 16 tiny cuts on my hands after pulling weeds in the flower boxes at the rental property.

At work, I am on the missing and dead people beat this week. Today I wrote about a respected Alaska Native elder who passed away last week at the age of 93. On Wednesday, I interview a guy whose son witnessed a murder and went missing a few months later.

I know I am loved. A friend recently gave me a Hoover Wind Tunnel upright vacuum. It runs great and is even self-propelled. I didn’t know vacuums came self-propelled. The same friend gave me her surplus juice and milk so I could prolong going to the market, which I despise.

Finally, I don’t know what planet I was on but I only recently heard that Warren Buffet said newspapers are a bad investment. It’s been my industry for the past 10 years. I didn’t need the country’s premier investment guru to tell me newspapers are in trouble. Still, it’s depressing to hear someone of his good judgment, and a member of the Washington Post’s board of directors, more or less say that newspapers are a lost cause.

Darn. The five minute post turned into the 30-minute post.

2 comments on “The five minute post

  1. Helena
    May 19, 2009

    Amanda, I told our insomniac friend that I hope you have some extra air miles to bring the BWF up for a few days. It’s my wish that when Alec gets back, you and he run off to Chena Hot Springs or somewhere for a few days, and have a love fest, a little *relaxing* vacation – this time – and get caught up with each other. Sounds like you both need it.

  2. Fred Adams
    May 20, 2009

    Amanda, Tears are a sign of strengh in a relationship not a sign of any weakness in anyone. Nothing to be concerned about. Ginger’s Dad

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2009 by .
