Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The Death Zone

alecfur
The Death Zone is a place where there’s not enough oxygen to sustain human life. That’s where Alec is now. High on Mount Everest. I am a basketcase.

This must be what it’s like for the wives whose husbands are serving in combat zones overseas. I don’t know how anyone can function like this for months at a time.

I can barely gather my thoughts to write this post.

I stumbled over some of my favorite pictures of Alec. The one above shows him modeling his fur ruff. In the one below, he is wearing my trekking hat.

I have many feelings about this climb and some are conflicting. Today I feel mad at the mountain and in a fighting mood. What right does this mountain have? She lured and put in harm’s way a husband (almost) and father who is the heart and soul of a business that puts food on the table for two families.

Yes, I’m mad.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2009 by .
