Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Alec, me and Jade

Sports writer and fellow Murphy Domite Matias Saari wrote a fine tale of Alec’s epic adventure climbing his first peak in Nepal. See the story here.

My accomplishments of late include making good deviled eggs right-out-of-the-gate, strawberry plants that look promising and managing to juggle my job and Jitterbug, a.k.a. Lucky, a.k.a. Jade.

Also, I am mourning Michael Jackson. I admit I think he may have molested boys, but he was my idol in the 1980s. I remember yearning to marry him. It’s heart-breaking how messed up he became.

On Saturday, Jade and I went to visit a family about a mile away. There’s four children, ages 8 to 16 or so. The mom home schools. She was busy fixing a car but she graciously stopped to see us. After we settled in the kitchen, Jade wandered into another room. I wasn’t watching. She threw down an 8-year-old girl’s guitar, breaking it. The girl cried in her dad’s lap. I wanted to die.

2 comments on “Alec, me and Jade

  1. MG
    July 1, 2009

    Ah, the joys of parenthood. And to think my baby wants to drive my F150. He could break a helluva guitar (metaphorically speaking) with that thing.

  2. Amy
    July 9, 2009

    The story was a good one! Adam was enthralled. He keeps saying he’s GOT to talk to Alec about the experience. Maybe we can hook up sometime. We’re having a big cook-out on July 31 at the Chena River Wayside. Of course your fam. is invited. I’ll keep you posted on the details. Love ya, girl!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2009 by .
