Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The itch to get hitched

usfireweed
Alec, Jade and I attended a wedding reception today. And for the first time since he asked me to marry him more than a year ago, I felt excited that I would marry.

I’m not down on marriage. I think what I have now is more or less marriage. But I’m down on weddings. Mostly I don’t want to deal with the hassle of planning one and carrying it out.

I mean, dinner parties stress me out. They’re a lot of work. A wedding would be 10 times worse, right?

But today I saw a happy bride and groom, enjoying a lovely party. That’s what I want too.

Alec wasn’t keen on planning our wedding right then and there. This couple’s celebration was far from what his dreams is for us. (Whatever that dream may be.)

But he didn’t make a sour face when I suggested we do a small ceremony in our home on our awesome new deck, which Alec is currently building.

I just want a pretty dress, flowers, good food and people around me who love me for me.

And nice pictures like the one above of me and Jade in a field of fireweed at the lovely wedding reception.

9 comments on “The itch to get hitched

  1. Madge
    July 12, 2009

    And I swear to god If you give me more notice than I gave you I will be there with a photog in tow that take awesome pictures of you looking awesome with your awesome family at your awesome wedding.

  2. Bottle Washing Fairy
    July 12, 2009

    Lovely Lady and the man in your life,
    I hereby volunteer my assistance with whatever event you two/three choose when the time is right. I know, two nieces (of yours–to-be) who are champing at the bit to go to a wedding (suspect they and their mama would be happy to help, too), plus a niece of mine who thinks taking her family (three grandnieces) to Alaska for a wedding sounds like a great idea, more potential help. And, small is nice (as long as I am invited). Do not be daunted by thinking you must do the event on your own. Ask for help. I suspect an army will volunteer.
    Much love,
    tbwf

  3. Jill
    July 12, 2009

    I consider myself very qualified to help plan weddings, having planned all three of mine. And while that might seem a dubious recommendation, ask anyone and they’ll all tell you each one was unique and wonderful. As mother of the two wedding-inclined nieces (who were great helpers with planning my Last wedding) I can tell you that teenage girls make excellent wedding planners. And we really would like to come so I’m with Madge, please tell us a bit in advance. Much love

  4. Marie Rocheleau
    July 13, 2009

    I would love to help also. My wedding to Ron was very small, we went to Valdez, did our vows in front of Horse Tail Falls and had dinner at Mikes Pizza. attendees were, our children, and Ron’s parents. My dress was purchased for under $100.00 at Owl Tree. Ron rented his tux at College floral (yes he had to have a tux, his idea) Cake and my bouquet was made at the Eagle grocery store in Valdez, flowers looked beautiful and the cake tasted amazing. Decorations were nonexistent, no hassle no fuss. It was perfect, we went halibut fishing afterwards. 🙂

  5. Ginger
    July 13, 2009

    I would say that I’d love to pitch in with planning too, but it would be a lie and I love you too much to lie to you (ha!). I love that you have so many wonderful women in your life!
    I so look forward to the occasion. You two inspire me.

  6. mountainrunner
    July 15, 2009

    Hey! Were you at a wedding near my house??? That fireweed looks familiar! Is the photo taken behind the Musher’s Hall?

    Stay in touch, girl! That’s too close to not stop in and say, “Hi.”

  7. Paige Jennifer
    July 21, 2009

    First off, that is a fantastic photo – the kind that belongs in a frame, tacked to a wall. Secondly, most weddings are wretched displays of silly and meaningless self-indulgence. Which is why I really dislike attending them. But based on what I know of you from this here corner of the interweb, I’m certain your nuptials will be celebrated in an intimate and meaningful way – something truly worth raising a champagne flute for.

  8. MG
    July 22, 2009

    Potluck, beer, friends, bonfire? I’ll be in charge of Kleenex, as I’m likely to use the lions share of it. 😉

  9. Lisa
    August 5, 2009

    Okay, I’ll need to help with this too. Anyway, I love this post, for reasons obvious and not-so-obvious. 🙂 I love the way your mind works!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2009 by .
