Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Golden Days

My town celebrates its roots with an annual festival lauding the 1902 Fairbanks Gold Rush. The celebration climaxes with a parade.

This year’s parade seemed a bit bland. The floats largely lacked imagination, there were too few political floats and the can-can girls looked exhausted and drawn. I blame the recession.

Even so, my mom always took me to parades when I was little. I marched in a few parades as a pom-pon girl in high school. I love them, and I plan to drag my kid to as many parades as possible.

Here’s a few highlights from the 2009 AT&T Golden Days Grande Parade. (Yes, by the way, we are a town of sellouts.)

parade1
The Fairbanks Red Hackle Pipe Band.

parade2
A Felix Pedro look-alike. Pedro is a famous prospector.

parade3
Me trying to look cool in my do-rag.

parade4
This is so Fairbanks.

parade5
Can-can girls.

parade6
The University of Alaska Fairbanks mascot, the polar bear or Nanook.

parade7
Cool. I wish I could do that.

parade8
Hippie girl.

parade9
Hippie van.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2009 by .
