Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Change

The fire is in a lull and this cold front is starting to feel like a change of season.

There’s been frost in the valleys.

Alec has abandoned the deck and spends his free time gathering, chopping and stacking firewood.

I am baking, including zucchini bread, to make the house feel cozy.

The state fair is over on Saturday. Schools starts Monday.

I can feel my body clock slowing in anticipation of winter.

Soon I will be able to watch the sun go down behind the hills near my house.

I find myself pondering possible Halloween costumes for me and for Lucky. I would like to be a butterfly or a witch. Maybe Jade could be a maid. She likes carrying around a broom.

In two short months, my baby will turn 2.

I am leaning toward a party at the indoor public pool, or dare I say, the hot springs. A few of her friends could come. We’d swim and eat finger sandwiches and cake.

We’ll do it while the Bottle Washing Fairy is in town.

One comment on “Change

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    August 13, 2009

    the bwf loves the idea!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2009 by .
