Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Meeting afterglow

I’m hiding out in the garage. I have a houseful asleep upstairs. I should be too but I got home from work at 11 p.m. I covered a meeting on deadline. I’m always too jazzed to go to bed after writing on deadline late at night.

I’m in Alec’s man room, surrounded by safety glasses and shiny metal things. There’s a radio tuned into jazz music. I just heard someone upstairs get up and go pee.

By writing “houseful” earlier, I mean Alec, Lucky and the Bottle Washing Fairy, who came to be with us whilst celebrating her 70th birthday.

We had a moonlit walk on Saturday and on Sunday a turkey dinner with homemade bread.

Tomorrow is the municipal election. I still don’t know who I like for borough mayor and whether I can swallow the school bond measure.

One comment on “Meeting afterglow

  1. Megan Delehanty
    October 6, 2009

    Hi – I climbed Everest with Alec and he sent me a link to your Blog. I just want to tell you I’m sorry we didn’t meet at Base Camp and I enjoy your Blog. The photo of your daughter is precious and I can relate to your health insurance story (but I enjoy your other writings as well). I’ve had some health issues this last year that resulted in a $50 increase in my monthly premium (I found out when I returned from Everest). I work for myself – health insurance was awesome when I worked for a company. It goes on, this for someone who is relatively healthy (I did climb Everest). I can hardly imagine what it must be like for people who are really sick! Makes me sicker.

    Anyway, good luck with all that and please give Alec my best. He was a hoot on our trip!

    Megan

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2009 by .
