Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Winter reading list

I finally made it to the used book store and stocked my shelves with five titles that I hope will sustain me through a long Alaska winter.

Here’s the list: “Teacher Man,” by Frank McCourt; “Truth & Beauty” by Ann Patchett; “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert; “the Snapper” by Roddy Doyle; and “Almost There” by Nuala O’Faolain.

I hate how predictable these titles are. They scream, Yes, I am a 37-year-old middle class white woman with a college degree. Barf.

I started “the Snapper” and I love it so far, mainly for being not politically correct. The lead character is a pregnant woman who goes to bars and gets drunk. None of the other characters bat an eye about it. The story focuses on a big family living in Ireland.

I think I have all of Roddy Doyle’s books. He’s one of my favorite writers. “the Snapper” is almost all dialogue. Doyle is a master at writing dialogue and can totally get away with that.

3 comments on “Winter reading list

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    October 16, 2009

    I’m not sure how blogs work. Is that lovely photo of the birches and grass yours? I know I can cause my google page to have photos, but there are not mine. Do you suppose I could cause it to have a photo of mine?
    ml,
    tbwf

  2. Sarah
    October 16, 2009

    I thought “Eat Pray Love” was a fun, quick read. I hope you like it!

  3. Lisa
    October 20, 2009

    I loved loved LOVED “Eat Pray Love”, especially since I was in Calcutta when I read it! It didn;t hurt that I left a piece of my own heart in Italy as well. If you like it, then I also recommend the book “Holy Cow”, which is an Australian reporter’s memoir about living in India. I enjoyed that one too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2009 by .
