Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The childless

Why does it feel like childless people lead more interesting lives?

All of my favorite bloggers have no children. They go to the gym, drag shows, plays and sleazy bars. Their experiences sound fun and fascinating.

Me? I go to play group, do my job and on the rare night that I’m in town one evening and grab a drink with friends, I leave early to go to the grocery store. Wild and crazy, huh?

Don’t get me wrong. I have zero regret about my kid. And she’s not that hard to raise. She sleeps until 9am sometimes. She eats her vegetables. She loves books. When she gets into trouble and I tell her to go to her room, she goes to her room and closes the door.

Still, motherhood has made me boring. I mean, I’m going to Las Vegas next weekend. Guess what I plan to dress up as? Santa Claus. My friend who is also going is planning to be a naughty kitty.

I need to think of a better costume. Maybe I should go as a roller derby chick. I could skate around the Las Vegas strip in my roller blades.

4 comments on “The childless

  1. gregory m
    October 25, 2009

    i dunno … i think it’s all perspective. not much has surpassed the milestone of being called “daddy” by my little ones. “interesting” is a very relative term =P

  2. Jill
    October 30, 2009

    I prefer the term childfree. I loved every one of my 38 childfree years and have loved all 8 of my parenting years too. Both such wonderful ways to live. Different adventures at different times. Six months volunteering at the YMCA in Thailand wouldn’t have been possible with children. But since I adopted from China my “pregnancies” involved wonderful travel and cross cultural adventures–Best of Both Worlds!

    And look who’s talking–at the Everest Base Camp you can’t say you gave up on adventuring as a mom!

    Enjoy all your adventures.

  3. Titanium
    November 19, 2009

    It’s all in the perspective… when the munchkin is two, life is strained peas and potty-training mishaps. When she’s ten… it’s homework and snow-kayaking.

    It gets funner. I promise.

  4. jennifer
    November 24, 2009

    my favorite blogger has one child! i love you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2009 by .
