Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Midday break

Jade sporting her mom's new fox hat.


Jade, asleep for about two hours, will starting banging around in her crib any time. I am trying to sneak in a midday break by sipping snobby tea a friend gave me for Christmas. I’ll cut short my break to scrub the bathroom, which is so dirty it should be condemned.

Arctic air has blown into Fairbanks. And I mean blown. Alec spent part of Sunday watching the wind turbine with hopes the wind didn’t carry it away. The wind storm, which began over the weekend, is the strongest storm Alec has seen on Murphy Dome to date, he said. Our battery bank is still full even two days after the generator charged the batteries. The storm is predicted to last until Thursday, which means Alec will cancel Wednesday plans to go ice climbing at Denali Park. I’m going to suggest he go to the climbing wall at the gym.

Jade has been asking to go outside but I can’t oblige with temperatures below zero and steady winds. Finally, on Sunday, Alec bundled her up and took her outside to show her why we were saying no. Afterwards, she stopped asking to go outside. The girls from the next street came over and helped me occupy her. Also, we made bread.

I played hooky from play group today, feeling no desire to drive to town where it’s 40 below. I made French toast, using some of the bread from Sunday. After I finish this Blog post, I hope to make pizza crust from scratch for the first time.

I feel restless at work. I spend too much time at my desk or at meetings. I want to go somewhere with a photographer and interview people.

3 comments on “Midday break

  1. Bottle Washing Fairy
    January 12, 2010

    Stunning photograph, gorgeous model. I found my list — I want to know more about the silk screen. Next phone conversation. Loved the chance to visit this morning.
    Much love,
    tbwf

  2. Titanium
    January 12, 2010

    She’s precious!

    Here’s how I’m surviving the cold snap we’re currently enjoying.

  3. jennifer
    January 12, 2010

    omg! what a fab pic! keep that one forever!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2010 by .
