Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Goin’ to the chapel

My very lovely niece, Jessica, who is 20ish and lives in Illinois, was married recently, confirming my place among the middle aged. She made a stunning bride as seen in the pictures below. She’ll make a great mom this fall. I think the photo credit goes to some cousin on my sister’s husband’s side of the family.

Alec and I also have wedding plans. We’re having a last-minute shotgun (hopefully) elopement one sunny day this summer. We’re going to call all of our friends that morning and invite them. There will be no hard feelings for those who can’t make it seeing as how we’re going to give very little notice. The reception will more or less be potluck.

I regret the folks who will be left out due to the short notice but neither Alec nor I wish to go through the stress and drama of planning a wedding. And since it’s our day of celebrating our love, we’re going to be selfish about it and do it our own way. We hope our friends and loved ones understand.

The bride.

The bride's parents, my sister Dawn with her husband Dave.

The happy couple.

4 comments on “Goin’ to the chapel

  1. Madge
    March 25, 2010

    Just be sure to take pictures! Lots of ’em! And then I’ll post an embarrassing story of your courtship, just like you blessed my ceremony with!!! I’ll miss missing it, but you’ll love the elopement thing – trust me. Best kind of wedding for sure.

  2. Lisa
    April 16, 2010

    I’m clearing my calendar for the whole summer in anticipation!

  3. Sarah
    April 19, 2010

    My dearest cousin, who I’ve thought of as my sister, recently sent me her save-the-date. It is however only for a reception of her wedding. I’m hurt, and I know there will be a lot of hurt friends & relatives of yours if you do it like you say. My husband and I were completely selfish and didn’t invite anyone at all to our windy day atop the mountain. Sometimes I think that’s easiest on everyone.

  4. Amy
    April 26, 2010

    I think your niece is beautiful–I really do–but when are you going to update your blog!?! This is like the only way I find out what you’re up to! 🙂

    Love you and hope to see you soon.
    amy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2010 by .
