Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

No fly zone

Persistent bad weather at base camp kept the planes grounded today so we are back at the Roadhouse for the night. I lost track of the Glacier Boys but they can’t have gone far because Alec’s wallet and coat are in the room.

We spent the day sitting on the deck of the air taxi service, soaking up sunlight, and I was glad that I brought some knitting. A scarf is about a third of the way done.

I hear it snowed in Fairbanks—this after weeks of mild weather suggesting spring was underway. I swapped out the snow tires, and we left a plant on the deck. I am thinking it’s dead by now.

We’ll try again to fly out to base camp early in the morning. I wish I had brought more warm clothes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2010 by .
