Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

It’s November

A bright moon casts a glow on the snow outside, lighting up the forest. The temperature is about 25. A walk sounds enticing but it’s after 10 p.m. and I am eight months pregnant.

So I sit here in Jade’s room, where it’s cozy with the quilt, the firefly mobile and the paper lantern. Jade went to bed with her dad. I had gone to bed too but I have trouble going to sleep, so I got up, ate some licorice, rocked in a chair and gazed outside.

I have a job. Not my normal job at the newspaper but a moonlighting gig. I need it. My last day at the company where I’ve worked for 10 years is Jan. 7. Kind of scary. Staying at home with two children is going to be a big change. A little work on the side will probably do me some good.

So my gig. It’s putting together a biographical narrative about a portrait painter for her Web site. I’ve already written about her for the newspaper. She wants a draft from me on Friday. I am kind of hoping we wind up doing a trade so I can get a portrait painted of Jade.

I’m anemic but a new regimen of iron tablets should fix me up.

I’ve decided to make Jade two multi-tiered skirts for Christmas. The project requires making an elastic waist and deploying the gathering stitch. I’ve done neither so this should be challenging. If I can manage it, I might make myself a skirt to wear after my belly shrinks back down to normal.

Alec is still jet-lagged from five weeks in Nepal. He can barely keep his eyes open after 6 p.m. and it’s getting annoying. On the other hand, he made breakfast today and took Jade with him to a Nascar party so that I could be alone so I am trying to be reasonable.

It’s astonishing that Jade still refuses to go to the bathroom in the toilet considering she can practically change her own diaper. She is turning into a chatterbox. Also, she is getting better about picking up her toys. And she is eager to help in the kitchen.

On Thursday, we are carrying on a decades-long tradition of Alec’s family, the Turners, who eat Thanksgiving dinner with the Wilson family. I am to bring a hot vegetable and bread. In past years, the other guests at this party have seemed dull. However, a night of dull conversation is totally worth the Wilson family creme de menthe pie.

I’m afraid I don’t have the Wilson family creme de menthe pie recipe, but I found the one below on the Internet last year and it was tasty.

A turkey will be roasted at our house on Saturday. Maybe I’ll make my own creme de menthe pie. Here’s the recipe:

CREME DE MENTHE PIE

Filling:
half a cup of milk
20 marshmallows
3 Tablespoons of creme de menthe
1/2 pint of heavy cream

Shell:
14 chocolate ice box cookies, crushed
3/4 to 1 cup of melted butter
OR
1 store bought chocolate crumb pie shell

For pie filling, melt marshmallows over low heat in milk, stirring constantly. Remove the pan from the heat and add creme de menthe. Whip the cream and fold it in. Mix and pour it into the pie shell. Chill 24 hours.

If making the crust, combine butter and cookie crumbs. Press into a 9 inch pie plate.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2010 by .
