Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Letting go

When I was in college I went to go live in a cabin in the woods and the experience unexpectedly prompted me to let go of all bitterness.

People who know me have asked how I did it. I don’t know how it happened. It just did.

But sometimes a little bitterness sneaks up on me. I think of circumstances that were unfair. I think of people who treated me badly. My heart starts pounding. I begin to crave a day of reckoning.

When I catch myself, I start to breath. Think happy thoughts. I try to feel grateful for the wonderful life I live now. I let go. Why live in the past?

2 comments on “Letting go

  1. greg milner
    January 7, 2011

    do you think it’s genetic?? or just human? i catch myself not only thinking of the past, but “what if’s” that i create in my head – they can get me really upset, like angry at someone who’s done nothing. then i remind myself i can’t tell the future, stop thinking about what might happen or how something might turn out & to forget it & just deal with it when it as it happens

  2. jennifer
    January 27, 2011

    this is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2011 by .
