Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The new guy in my life

Slate at only a few days old


Behold! Slate Patrick Turner was born on Jan. 25 at 7:39 am weighing 7 pounds, 12 ounces, and standing (well, lying really) 21 inches tall. I meant to make this announcement sooner but I am still adjusting to looking after two children.

Today Slate is 10 days old. It’s 2pm and I am dressed, the kids are dressed, we’ve all had breakfast and lunch and I’ve even entertained company and folded and put away two loads of clothes. If my teeth were brushed and bed made, it might nearly be described as a successful day.

I remember going through this with Jade. It took weeks to figure out how to pull myself together before noon, so I am hopeful I will figure it out with Slate in the mix as well.

He’s a good baby. He only cries when he gas, hunger or at bathing time. Jade was a feisty child from day one, while Slate is mellow. He sleeps about 18 to 20 hours a day though he seems to be staying awake longer these last two days. He eats a lot—at least every two hours—which is way more than Jade ate and he makes more messy diapers too.

Jade seems to be adjusting OK. Slate’s arrival immediately provoked in her an identity crisis and she pretended to cry every time he cried but that seems to be waning. Now she is eager to help and grabbing special attention from mama every chance she gets.

Alec is over the moon to have a boy, even if the boy doesn’t look much like him. Slate has my humongous forehead, courtesy of my dad, and my eyes, also thanks to my dad, I think. His chestnut hair has a red tint like my dad’s, though his eyebrows are very light, making me think he might blond up.

His eyes are destined to be blue or gray. The only question at this point is what shade?

5 comments on “The new guy in my life

  1. Titanium
    February 4, 2011

    Congratulations! He’s perfectly adorable. So glad that he’s a mellow little fellow… it sure makes it easier.

  2. auntie/grandma kathy
    February 5, 2011

    He is sooooo cute! Sounds like you are doing great. Congrats!

  3. Madeleine Haley
    February 9, 2011

    Congratulations! As your family grows, your free time will shrink but this too shall pass so enjoy it while it lasts. As soon as you’ve figured out the daily schedule it will change. That makes things more interesting.

  4. John R. Mazzitello
    February 9, 2011

    Congrats, Amanda! He is adorable!

  5. Paige Jennifer
    February 15, 2011

    (squee) So adorable! Congratulations to you guys!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2011 by .
