Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The new world order

Slate sporting his owl hat.


I’m still trying to figure out a routine so my days have structure. The hardest part is this little guys eats a lot. Like every two hours. And sometimes he falls asleep before he is done so after I lay him down, thinking I might get something done, he wakes up and objects, demanding more food, which requires me to sit down and nurse him some more.

Plus Jade wants equal treatment so I am having to rock her in my lap and love on her a few times a day so she doesn’t feel left out.

I have yet to venture out on my own with both kids, and truth be told the idea terrifies me. We took a family trip to the market on Sunday and I wound up sitting on a pallet of SpaghettiOs at Sam’s Club to nurse Slate while Jade proceeded to take off her shoes and socks. Their father had wandered off, deciding he had a pressing need to go find Ziploc bags.

The men who walked by didn’t seem to care but one woman made known her disapproval and I actually considered punching her with my boy on my breast. I must still be hormonal. I shouldn’t blame her. I wasn’t as discreet as I could have been. I was tired and keen on keeping my boy quiet and happy.

Still, I don’t understand why a bare boob is so offensive. I mean, who cares? Boobs don’t belong in the same league as crotches. They should be treated the same as a bare elbow or shoulder.

2 comments on “The new world order

  1. Sarah
    February 16, 2011

    Oh man that was hilarious. My husband pointed me toward this and said your last paragraph was the “Best Line of 2011.” Ha ha! I rather liked the parts about being terrified to take the kids out alone, the husband wandering off, and punching the disapproving woman in the face. It’s hard, isn’t it? I can identify. Somewhere it becomes easy though, because last night I watched 4 kids by myself for 5 hours and I didn’t have any stress. Not any. I remember being so freaked out about watching 2 kids for an hour when I only had one. I was stressed for a year about taking my own two kids out by myself and now I can double it? In fact, I’m not sure I took them anywhere by myself except for a drive for like ?? at least 3 months, maybe longer. It definitely requires energy and that sure takes time to come back. Oh, man, your sweet babe is only like 2 weeks old. It sounds like you’re doing GREAT if you took a trip to get groceries with the whole family. That takes courage.

  2. Helena
    March 6, 2011

    I’m *so* sure the men didn’t have any problems with it. 😉 And sorry, bud, but a nipple will never, ever have the same status as an elbow or shoulder. I think all moms should breastfeed if they can. I however, don’t necessarily want to see “it” – yes, and I’m talking about your boob – oddly enough, it offends my sense of modesty. I say oddly, cuz I just don’t tend to think of myself as old fashioned that way. But I guess I am. Some things you do in private, and breastfeeding is one of them. That’s just how I was raised.

    It’s also hard to watch because when I see a woman breastfeed, I can’t avoid thinking about how I always wanted kids, and at this point, never will. Some days, it doesn’t bother me at all. Some days, it taps into a deep heartache of being childless. So, while I understand a mom’s urgent need to sometimes drop everything and breast feed in public, I humbly submit that I wish they wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2011 by .
