Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Why I might be going mad

I find myself saying the same things a hundred times a day, and it’s crushing my soul. I think my mother might have reincarnated as my 3-year-old in order to take her revenge for all of the bad things I did as a child. And there are many. I’m in big trouble for at least the next 15 years.

Being a stay-at-home mom is harder than I thought it would be. I’m exasperated already today and it’s not even noon.

I try all of the tricks so my kid will be a good kid. I compliment my daughter for good behavior. I come up with activities to keep her busy. I give her timeouts when she is naughty.

Today, I broke down and spanked her for insubordination for the first time since last summer. I’m not proud. I felt like a bully. I know “the experts” recommend against spanking. But sometimes I wonder if “the experts” have real experience raising a child. Timeouts have lost their potency.

I feel like the moment my back is turned, my 3-year-old does something she is not supposed to do. And I know she knows better. If she can remember a promised treat from hours ago, than she knows my rules since I repeat them all day long.

Also, I can’t get a moment to myself. Since I started writing this post about five minutes ago, she has come nagging me to help with her pants, retrieve her pillow and fetch some water. Grrrrrrrrr. How am I supposed to write the occasional freelance article as I had planned?

Here’s the top 10 list of things I say all day long like a broken record. These phrases are so prominent in my brain that I can’t even think of a more interesting topic for a blog post.

10) That’s not a toy.
9) Get your hand out of your pants.
8)) We don’t play on the stairs.
7) Stop pestering me. I heard you the first time.
6) Get your feet off of your brother.
5) Stop picking your nose.
4) Finish your breakfast/lunch/dinner.
3) Why didn’t you go on the potty?
2) You can play with your iPad after dinner.
1) Don’t touch my phone.

2 comments on “Why I might be going mad

  1. Paige Jennifer
    March 10, 2011

    I only know of Jade through this blog. And those ten instructions you listed? They totally make her 3-dimensional. So while they drive you batty, they made me smile.

    Sadly, I know I’ve had to say some of those things to grown men I’ve dated (sigh).

  2. mountainrunner
    March 15, 2011

    I totally feel your pain!!! 🙂 I can’t even go to the bathroom without Gabriella. Lately, she’s become quite the whiner. And did I mention that I despise whining?Some days are tough, but a sweet gesture or the flash of a pretty smile can make it all better. I just wish there was more smiling…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2011 by .
