Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Still finding my way

Lucky at the ice park.


I hear Slate grunting in the other room so I may have to cut this short. I should be doing my taxes right now instead of lingering on WordPress but blogging is more fun.

Mother-of-eight and reality star Kate Gosselin just did an interview on the Today Show and I actually found it inspiring. If a single mom of eight with a job can find time to do her hair, sit with a straight back and speak in complete sentences than a shacked up stay-at-home mom of two can, right?

I wish I knew the trick to having it all: a fulfilling job, kids, a strong love relationship. But I don’t. I’m just bumbling along trying to keep everything going—the kids fed and clean and the house not in a shambles. I have a few ideas for freelance stories but no time away from the kids to execute them. Romance, these days, is Alec cooking a meal or helping with the dishes.

I did manage to teach myself to sew fleece pants from a pattern. I do it in 10-minute increments throughout the day. It gives me a sense of accomplishment. Too bad I can’t write in that manner. Writing, for me, requires long stretches of uninterrupted time to think things out.

I’m looking forward to the Bottle Washing Fairy coming for the summer. She promises to give me some reprieve. And Lucky is enrolled in preschool for the fall. I hope to have it together by then so I can take an advanced writing class at the university.

I am still thinking about weaning Slate this summer so I can hike the Chilkoot Trail. It’s 33 miles. I need something to train for so I can loose this baby weight.

Slate at the ice park.

4 comments on “Still finding my way

  1. Amy
    April 4, 2011

    When are you doing the Chilkoot Trail?!!! It’s always been a dream of mine to hike that sucker. Keep me posted on the who, what, when and where. I’m very interested!

    Glad to hear Lucky’s enrolled in pre-school! Which one? Love ya…

  2. Titanium
    April 4, 2011

    The Chilkoot is a totally awesome hike. I did it in 2006 and really, really enjoyed it.

    The words will come. It takes years for the ‘baby-effect’ to wear off. Seriously. Mine is eleven and I’m STILL not talking in full sentences.

  3. Sarah
    April 4, 2011

    I think you’re doing just fantastic (I write as my kids are eating snacks off of the floor, laundry to do, kitchen a mess so maybe I’m not judge). I can’t believe all of the things you’ve already done in only two months of recovery. You mentioned last year you’d like to do the midnight sun run. I know it’s not as long or as interesting, but it is an accomplishment even to walk it and would spare you and Slate the psychological drama of weaning before it may be time. But, if you do the Chilkoot, I would appreciate if you invite me.

  4. Bottle Washing Fairy
    April 6, 2011

    Yes! The Chilkoot! Assemble your team, name your time. And, the Bottle Washing Fairy is ever so eager to be there to see you all and greedily offer the mama… Oh, who am I kidding. I want those little ones to myself. Although, having been a mama, I know how nice it was to have someone around who really wanted to take the kids for awhile. Soon. xxoo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2011 by .
